President Constitutes National Economic Council

President Constitutes National Economic Council

President Asif Ali Zardari has officially constituted the National Economic Council (NEC).

A notification issued by the Cabinet Division stated, “In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 156 of the Constitution, the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is pleased to constitute the National Economic Council.”

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif will serve as the chairman of the council. The council’s members will include the chief ministers of Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan.

Additionally, four members nominated by the prime minister under Article 156 of the Constitution will include Foreign Minister Ishaq Dar, Defense Minister Khawaja Asif, Finance Minister Muhammad Aurangzeb, and Planning Minister Ahsan Iqbal.

Furthermore, four members nominated by the respective chief ministers are Punjab Senior Minister Marriyum Aurangzeb, Sindh’s Minister for Irrigation Jam Khan Shoro, KP’s Advisor to the CM on Finance Muzammil Aslam, and Balochistan’s Minister for Planning Zahoor Ahmed Buledi.

Members by special invitation/co-opted members include Minister for Economic Affairs Ahad Khan Cheema, the Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission, the Finance Secretary, the Economic Affairs Secretary, and the Planning Secretary.