Three European Countries Officially Recognize Palestine


In a landmark development, Norway, Ireland, and Spain have officially recognized the state of Palestine. This historic decision was announced on Wednesday and marks a significant moment in international relations.

The move has been celebrated by the Palestinian community but strongly condemned by Israel, which responded by recalling its ambassadors from Norway and Ireland.

Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre declared that Norway would recognize a Palestinian state starting May 28. “By recognizing a Palestinian state, Norway supports the Arab peace plan,” he stated.

Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris emphasized the historic nature of the decision, highlighting its significance in promoting a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. He expressed optimism that other countries would follow Norway, Spain, and Ireland’s lead in recognizing Palestine as a state “in the weeks ahead.”

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez also announced that Spain would recognize Palestine as a state on May 28. Speaking in Parliament, Sánchez reaffirmed his commitment to supporting Palestinian statehood, consistent with his leadership of Spain’s Socialist Party since 2018.