Reserves Added as Australia Finalize Squad for T20 World Cup, No Room for Big Names

Added as Australia Finalize Squad for T20 World Cup

Australia has finalized their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, confirming a 15-player group along with travelling reserves. The team remains unchanged from the preliminary list, with Jake Fraser-McGurk and Matt Short joining as reserves.

Notably, there is still no place for Steve Smith, Jason Behrendorff, or Tanveer Sangha in the squad for the four-week tournament set in the West Indies and the USA.

Mitchell Marsh will lead the team, solidifying his role as the full-time T20I captain, a decision announced alongside the original squad on May 1.

Left-arm spinner Ashton Agar has been recalled despite not playing a T20I since the last T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022. The squad also includes all-rounders Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Cameron Green, and Glenn Maxwell.

Players and staff will arrive in the West Indies in stages, allowing those participating in the Indian Premier League some time at home before joining the team.

George Bailey, Australia’s chair of selectors, stated that Fraser-McGurk and Short made “compelling cases” for inclusion, providing strong cover in case of injuries during the tournament.

“As the tournament proceeds, the short turnaround between fixtures makes it challenging to get players in at short notice in the event of injury,” Bailey said. “Matt offers an all-round skillset, while Jake provides additional batting cover.”

“Both players possess exciting talents that can enhance the squad if needed. If not, the experience will be valuable for their development at the international level.”

Australia will kick off their T20 World Cup campaign against Oman in Barbados on June 5, followed by Group B matches against England, Namibia, and Scotland.

Australia Squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Travelling Reserves: Jake Fraser-McGurk, Matt Short

Read more: Reserves Added as Australia Finalize Squad for T20 World Cup, No Room for Big Names

Teams are allowed to make changes to their squad until May 25, after which any alterations will require approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.